Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Dodge Truck Forums > Dodge Ram Generations Forum > 4th Gen : 2009 - Present > Audio & Electronics


Audio & Electronics

Navigation and vehicle phone...


This is a discussion on Navigation and vehicle phone... within the Audio & Electronics forums, part of the 4th Gen : 2009 - Present category!
So a while back my navigation stopped working accurately. I would be in Pittsburgh but my truck would be driving ...


Like Tree2Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2016, 10:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
jimmerz's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Pittsburgh
Age: 46
Posts: 23

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 5.7 Hemi
Default Navigation and vehicle phone...
So a while back my navigation stopped working accurately. I would be in Pittsburgh but my truck would be driving through pymatuning lake. Or it might be in Ohio somewhere. Then I started getting messages on my screen that the vehicle phone needs service. I don't really use either and I'm out of warranty so I basically ignore it. But I check it occasionally and every once in a while my navigation is back in sync and working properly... It doesn't last long but it does work. I find this issue weird, it's either broke out not. Anyone else existence anything like this?

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk


Sponsored Ad
Register to remove this ad.


__________________
2014 Ram CC Big Horn 4x4 3.92 tow package. Bullet Liner, Truxedo Duece, Side Steps.
jimmerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 09:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
ramcares's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 674

Ram Year: n/a
Engine: n/a
Default
Originally Posted by jimmerz View Post
So a while back my navigation stopped working accurately. I would be in Pittsburgh but my truck would be driving through pymatuning lake. Or it might be in Ohio somewhere. Then I started getting messages on my screen that the vehicle phone needs service. I don't really use either and I'm out of warranty so I basically ignore it. But I check it occasionally and every once in a while my navigation is back in sync and working properly... It doesn't last long but it does work. I find this issue weird, it's either broke out not. Anyone else existence anything like this?

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
Hi jimmerz,

Sorry to hear about this! If you decide to visit your local dealership for further diagnosis I'd be happy to follow up with them for you if needed. Just PM our page with your VIN and let me know.

Andrea
Ram Social Care Specialist
jimmerz likes this.
ramcares is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 10:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Age: 47
Posts: 642

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 3.6
Default
Is your radio software up to date??? That's the first thing I'd check.


__________________
Weathertech Floor Liner, Weathertech Side Window Deflectors, Weathertech Molded Mud Flaps, Line X Spray In Liner, Ionic Gladiator Running Boards, Extang Black Max Tonneau Cover LEDglow Tailgate Bar
stimpy433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 10:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
jimmerz's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Pittsburgh
Age: 46
Posts: 23

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 5.7 Hemi
Default
To be honest I don't know. I've never updated it on my own. It was updated through the dealer while under warranty. Am I able to update it myself?

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk


__________________
2014 Ram CC Big Horn 4x4 3.92 tow package. Bullet Liner, Truxedo Duece, Side Steps.
jimmerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 10:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Southern California
Posts: 341

Ram Year: 2012
Engine: 5.7
Default
If your navigation is not working properly, telling you your not in the same state as you actually are, makes me think its the antenna. I'd check the connection of the GPS antenna on the back of the radio. Other than that, no clue.
novelmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 11:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
jimmerz's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Pittsburgh
Age: 46
Posts: 23

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 5.7 Hemi
Default
Ok. That makes sense

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk


__________________
2014 Ram CC Big Horn 4x4 3.92 tow package. Bullet Liner, Truxedo Duece, Side Steps.
jimmerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 10:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
57buick's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 169

Ram Year: 2015
Engine: 6.7L diesel
Default
man even with no reception you would think it would assume your in the same state you were in before it had connection lol that's weird
jimmerz likes this.


__________________
2015 Ram 2500 Cummins Diesel w\37" on 20's 6" Zone Offroad Lift
57buick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 10:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
jimmerz's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Pittsburgh
Age: 46
Posts: 23

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 5.7 Hemi
Default
Yeah. The vehicle phone needs service. My 911 is out of whack. My subscription is long over, as well as my warranty and my maps are out of date. I'll more than likely follow your instructions 57 and just upgrade my whole unit. I don't use any of the features that stopped working so it's no big deal. Just frustrating that a 3yr old vehicle has that many radio related issues.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk


__________________
2014 Ram CC Big Horn 4x4 3.92 tow package. Bullet Liner, Truxedo Duece, Side Steps.
jimmerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 11:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 368

Ram Year: 2016
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
Not to hijack the post but can you update the radios on your own or does the dealer have to do it. I just did a software update on my truck does that do the head unit as well.
Ferro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 11:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Victoria, Canada
Posts: 38

Ram Year: 2016
Engine: 3.6
Default
You or your dealer can do the Uconnect updates which are for the head unit only. What "software update" did you do? Or do you mean that you just had your truck in at the dealer and they updated something (ECM?)
Brew99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Navigation Help Griebz Audio & Electronics 52 09-06-2015 11:35 AM
Navigation hubcap Audio & Electronics 7 03-11-2015 06:34 PM
911 Vehicle Phone - error BlitzBound Audio & Electronics 14 02-25-2013 04:28 PM
navigation harr118 Audio & Electronics 4 07-16-2012 09:34 PM
RB1 Navigation mopar6spd For Sale 1 02-11-2011 11:40 PM

<




GM Truck Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum