Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Dodge Truck Forums > Dodge Ram Generations Forum > 4th Gen : 2009 - Present > Audio & Electronics


Audio & Electronics

New stereo install


This is a discussion on New stereo install within the Audio & Electronics forums, part of the 4th Gen : 2009 - Present category!
As the title states I started a new double din stereo install, it worked fine for a couple days until ...


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2017, 04:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Jzablocki15's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: milwaukee
Age: 25
Posts: 4

Ram Year: 2009
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default New stereo install
As the title states I started a new double din stereo install, it worked fine for a couple days until the wire nuts on the 12v yellow and ground wire fell off. I'm assuming one of them hit something and jacked it up. So I checked and replaced the bad radio fuse and now got a new stereo unit. Thing is, now only the stock radio works. I put a multimeter behind the stock harness and what I assume is the power (yellow wire) but got either all 0's or nothing above .02. Checked all the fuses underneath the hood and they all look fine. Don't know where to go from here, any advice?


Sponsored Ad
Register to remove this ad.
Jzablocki15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 04:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Age: 27
Posts: 1,549

Ram Year: 2013
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
First problem was using wire nuts. Also there is no ACC power behind radio, what harness are you using?


__________________
2013 1500 Laramie 4x4 Brilliant Black
BakFlip G1 w/ BakBox | SpinTech Muffler | 15% Tint |PAC BCI-CH41v2 & VS41 w/ Front & Side Cameras | Bullet Antenna | Waiting to be installed: JBL 660GTIs | JL Audio 13TW5 | Alpine PDX-V9 | PAC AP4-CH41
2016 Dodge Charger R/T Road & Track Go Mango
adrianp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 05:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
VegasDragger45's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Age: 28
Posts: 1,704

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 5.7 Hemi
Default
Does you harness have an inline fuse as well? Possibly a barrel fuse?


__________________
SPONSORS: Kicker Audio, Gear Alloy Wheels, Hercules Tires, Carven Exhaust, Magnum/ICI, Husky Liners, Roadwire Leather, BedRug, Hellwig Products, T-Rex Grilles, Spyder Auto, Undercover Truck Lids, Odyssey Battery, Anarchy Offroad, MGP, BOLT, Rhino-Rack
VegasDragger45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 05:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Jzablocki15's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: milwaukee
Age: 25
Posts: 4

Ram Year: 2009
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
Yeah, I figured that out after finding the wire nuts inside the dash. Metra xsvi-6522-nav. No, I don't see any fuses on the harness. I tested for continuity between the ACC, 12V and ground. All have continuity. The pic is without the aftermarket harness. So just stock radio and stock harness, radio was working while the picture was taken. Tried moving it around and still got nothing. Even tried measuring A/C cause I was kinda dumbfounded.
Attached Thumbnails
0111171424.jpg  
Jzablocki15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 06:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Age: 27
Posts: 1,549

Ram Year: 2013
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
You have continuity between 12v and ground? That would be a problem.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
2013 1500 Laramie 4x4 Brilliant Black
BakFlip G1 w/ BakBox | SpinTech Muffler | 15% Tint |PAC BCI-CH41v2 & VS41 w/ Front & Side Cameras | Bullet Antenna | Waiting to be installed: JBL 660GTIs | JL Audio 13TW5 | Alpine PDX-V9 | PAC AP4-CH41
2016 Dodge Charger R/T Road & Track Go Mango
adrianp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 06:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
Jzablocki15's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: milwaukee
Age: 25
Posts: 4

Ram Year: 2009
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
No my mistake. I tested for continuity with each wire individually, and they all worked.
Jzablocki15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 07:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Age: 27
Posts: 1,549

Ram Year: 2013
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
If you have 12v, ACC, and ground coming out of the Metra harness, then your radio should work. If it does not, check the radio fuse. If it still doesn't then you have a bad radio.


__________________
2013 1500 Laramie 4x4 Brilliant Black
BakFlip G1 w/ BakBox | SpinTech Muffler | 15% Tint |PAC BCI-CH41v2 & VS41 w/ Front & Side Cameras | Bullet Antenna | Waiting to be installed: JBL 660GTIs | JL Audio 13TW5 | Alpine PDX-V9 | PAC AP4-CH41
2016 Dodge Charger R/T Road & Track Go Mango
adrianp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 08:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 253

Ram Year: 2015
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
Originally Posted by adrianp89 View Post
If you have 12v, ACC, and ground coming out of the Metra harness, then your radio should work. If it does not, check the radio fuse. If it still doesn't then you have a bad radio.
My vote goes to the radio fuse as well. I have not seen a radio without the fuse and sometimes it is hidden somewhere on the back of the radio. I'd hate to think that when the constant wire hit something it fried the radio but it is possible.
NOcasio7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 10:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
Jzablocki15's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: milwaukee
Age: 25
Posts: 4

Ram Year: 2009
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
That's the thing. I checked the fuse box and the radio fuse was fine. The one on the aftermarket stereo is fine as well. This is the second radio since I got rid of the shorted radio. The thing was, I put the stock radio back in and it worked, but putting a multimeter behind the stock harness I was getting no voltage, with the stock radio on. And even though the stock radio works the aftermarket doesn't, even tho the ground, and both 12v's have continuity. I'm wondering why the stock harness in the stock radio isn't showing any voltage but works. I think that's why the metra harness isn't getting voltage.
Jzablocki15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 10:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Age: 27
Posts: 1,549

Ram Year: 2013
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
There is no 12v ACC - if thats what you are looking for.

If the factory radio works then you have one of three issues:

1. Aftermarket Radio is bad (twist red and yellow together and hook up power to battery to see if it turns on)
2. Harness is bad (you said the harness outputs 12v constant (yellow), 12v acc (red), and ground to the radio, if this is true then harness is not bad).
3. Install is bad.


__________________
2013 1500 Laramie 4x4 Brilliant Black
BakFlip G1 w/ BakBox | SpinTech Muffler | 15% Tint |PAC BCI-CH41v2 & VS41 w/ Front & Side Cameras | Bullet Antenna | Waiting to be installed: JBL 660GTIs | JL Audio 13TW5 | Alpine PDX-V9 | PAC AP4-CH41
2016 Dodge Charger R/T Road & Track Go Mango

Last edited by adrianp89; 01-12-2017 at 10:50 AM.
adrianp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you have to cut to install an aftermarket stereo? gern Audio & Electronics 13 07-08-2016 02:33 PM
Stereo Install 85Ram Audio & Electronics 27 09-18-2013 10:44 PM
13 ram express aftermarket stereo install??!! Sic&tatted85 Audio & Electronics 1 07-10-2013 03:04 AM
Finally stereo install kit is here.... jrsram1500 Audio & Electronics 1 07-09-2013 02:04 AM
step 1 for stereo install daninfamous Audio & Electronics 2 08-02-2012 05:37 PM

<




GM Truck Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum