Sub questions.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RAMpant1500

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
So I've got two 10" JBL subs in a custom enclosure stretching across the entire back seat, taking up both under seat storage areas. Subs are rated at 125w RMS - 500w peak @ 4 ohms. Not sure what the volume of the box is. Subs are powered by a JL JX 500/1 - rated @ 300w RMS x 1 @ 4 ohms. I didn't install everything and I'm a novice when it comes to car audio so I have a few questions. I messed with the gain and bass boost on the amp and it seems to distort pretty quickly when you turn the levels up. Is that a sub problem or amp problem? Also, since it's a single channel amp, how did they send it to 2 subs? Am I underpowering the subs or pushing them too hard?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Eestee70

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 hemi
That amp is meant to power one speaker, also the gain is not for volume it is used to set the proper voltage output so the amp is running with maximum power without distortion. With JL Audio you should have gotten a booklet that shows speaker ohms to voltage output. Find the one that fits to your speaker ohms and use a volt meter to set the gains. ( if you have a volt meter).

OP
OP
R

RAMpant1500

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Okay, I'll take a meter to it later. Can you explain why the amp has 4 speaker outputs (2 neg and 2 pos)? Since it's only meant to power one sub.

Eestee70

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 hemi
My bad I was thinking of a different amp. My hunch is that your amp and head unit are not
Level matched. It's an easy process. Do you have the manual for your amp? If not I can take a pic of the page you need for setting the voltage and level matching. Do you have a bass knob. How is you amp connected to your system?

OP
OP
R

RAMpant1500

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine