Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Dodge Truck Forums > Dodge Ram Generations Forum > 4th Gen : 2009 - Present > Audio & Electronics


Audio & Electronics

Uconnect 8.4 & 8.4an update - 17.11.07


This is a discussion on Uconnect 8.4 & 8.4an update - 17.11.07 within the Audio & Electronics forums, part of the 4th Gen : 2009 - Present category!
Originally Posted by SitKneelBend Try deleting the pairing from your phone and adding it back again. Sent from my HTC ...


Like Tree146Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2017, 09:28 PM   #201 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Age: 55
Posts: 44

Ram Year: 2013
Engine: hemi 5.7
Default
Originally Posted by SitKneelBend View Post
Try deleting the pairing from your phone and adding it back again.

Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk
Bingo, that worked. Thanks for the tip SitKneelBend
SitKneelBend likes this.


Sponsored Ad
Register to remove this ad.
soapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 11:24 AM   #202 (permalink)
 
Witch's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 715

Ram Year: 2015
Engine: Hemi 5.7 liter
Default
The saga continues

The dealer after scratching my door had the truck another 3 days making it 4 days in total to fix the USB not working after the 17 version update

The y replaced the wire and the USB hub assembly and still nothing
I had to have the truck back so I went it and told them I have to have my truck back.
I figured I would take it to someone =that would do more than swap parts. the incompetence of their staff is staggering
So I thought I would try my hand at fixing it last night. came across a setting that said return to factory defaults. Thought to myself what do I have to lose right ?

Did that now the splash screen comes up SLT ??? effed up right ? not sure how to get it back to the way it was when I bought it ? Please any help is appreciated , not a fan of the new splash screen as I do not have and SLT ....

But I continued to look through all the settings and came across a setting called auto play. turned that on and boom , this had to be the problem the whole time so after a scratched door 4 days in the shop I fixed it in about 45 minutes of just Fielding around with the settings ???

But now the splash screen? please let me know if you have any ideas how to return it to the way It was

I have a 2015 Outdoorsman
tones2SS likes this.


__________________
5.7 Liter | 3.92 | 8 Spd | Volant CAI | Black Anodized OCC | Moe's 87mm TB | Magnaflow 14Ē | SS Dual Exhaust | 5Ē Black Tips | InTune i2 | PS Extreme Z36 Brakes | MGP Caliper Covers | BodyGuard A2L Bumper | Bushwacker Max Coverage FF
Luverne Grip Step | Roll-N-Lock Tonneau | Aries Floor Mats | RC 6Ē Lift | 37x12.5 Nitto Ridge Grapplers | Fuel Matte Black Throttle Wheels | Sylvania zXe High Bulbs | V.3 LED Low Beams | RC Kicker Bars | SunTek 20% Tint | 14" DuraFlaps | Hellwig rear sway bar | Zone Upper Control Arms | Pedal Commander
Witch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 11:49 AM   #203 (permalink)
Supporting Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: CT
Age: 29
Posts: 1,375

Ram Year: 2013
Engine: 5.7 HEMI
Default
Are you sure it's not the SRT logo on the splash screen? Previously all RAMs had the same splash screen regardless of trim level, and it was the RAM logo. I doubt that has changed.

Either way, it should correct itself. When the radio is reset it usually displays the incorrect screen for a little while.
SitKneelBend likes this.
00R/T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 12:55 PM   #204 (permalink)
 
SitKneelBend's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Age: 34
Posts: 2,912

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 3.6 Pentastar
Default
Originally Posted by 00R/T View Post
Are you sure it's not the SRT logo on the splash screen? Previously all RAMs had the same splash screen regardless of trim level, and it was the RAM logo. I doubt that has changed.

Either way, it should correct itself. When the radio is reset it usually displays the incorrect screen for a little while.
This^^^ SRT is the default and every 8.4 (in a Ram) displays that after reset. It will change after a few start-ups...

Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk
SitKneelBend is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 02:17 PM   #205 (permalink)
 
Witch's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 715

Ram Year: 2015
Engine: Hemi 5.7 liter
Default
Sure you guys are right, was going off memory and I am old

cool so it will correct itself
R.L.K. likes this.


__________________
5.7 Liter | 3.92 | 8 Spd | Volant CAI | Black Anodized OCC | Moe's 87mm TB | Magnaflow 14Ē | SS Dual Exhaust | 5Ē Black Tips | InTune i2 | PS Extreme Z36 Brakes | MGP Caliper Covers | BodyGuard A2L Bumper | Bushwacker Max Coverage FF
Luverne Grip Step | Roll-N-Lock Tonneau | Aries Floor Mats | RC 6Ē Lift | 37x12.5 Nitto Ridge Grapplers | Fuel Matte Black Throttle Wheels | Sylvania zXe High Bulbs | V.3 LED Low Beams | RC Kicker Bars | SunTek 20% Tint | 14" DuraFlaps | Hellwig rear sway bar | Zone Upper Control Arms | Pedal Commander
Witch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 04:43 PM   #206 (permalink)
 
tones2SS's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 2,597

Ram Year: 2016
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
Originally Posted by Witch View Post
Sure you guys are right, was going off memory and I am old
cool so it will correct itself
So, I got my haircut yesterday, get back in the truck hoping to listen to some tunes that I have on a dedicated thumbdrive that I leave in the truck's USB port. Didn't work. I took it out multiple times and replacing it over and over to no avail till I got home.I was kinda pissed off about it. So this morning, the same thing on the way to work. It did not work. Go into work for 8 hours, come back into the truck today,....now it works. Weird.
Don't forget, these trucks are like computers and sometimes they just need a reboot, or a shut off and need to reset themselves.
Good luck with yours! Hopefully everything goes back to normal.
R.L.K. likes this.
tones2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 06:11 PM   #207 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Houston, Tx
Age: 44
Posts: 182

Ram Year: 2016
Engine: 3.6L
Default
when I did the factory reset on my the other day, the SRT logo popped up first thing upon reboot.


__________________
Thanks,
Stephen

Audio Upgrades: NVX XPLOC4, (front) RF Punch P165-SI, (rear) RF Punch P1650, NVX JAD900.5
BadHabit2Break is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 04:26 PM   #208 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 237

Ram Year: 2015
Engine: Hemi 5.7L
Default
Ok, So Iíve been getting those annoying prompts to install the update on my RAM. Iíve been resisting the update but these prompts are becoming more and more frequent and annoying.

*

My resistance stems back to my experiences over the years with smart devices, primarily phones both iOS and android based devices but also non phone proprietary electronic devices. In my experience, these electronic devices have an initial release that generally has some quirks needing to be worked out, out comes some fixes and critical updates and bam your off to the races generally speaking. Now some time passes and technology improves. New updates come along to modernize the old devices to be on par or as much as they can be with current technology, the only problem is they were not designed with these new demands. So in turn this band aid approach I find often slows performance and or presents other new issues or worse renders the item useless. Yea there may be some improvements but at what costs. Now I read this will be a forced update after a period of time which is complete crap. I bought my truck, I own it, itís not uconnects or anyone elseís device to update Ė give me the freakin option to decline -* Iím perfectly happy with my current firmware version. I donít care about the new features Iíd rather keep my working system intact. The old saying applies here, if it ainít broken donít fix it.

*

So I guess enough of my soap box, does anyone know how to disable the update and its annoying prompts to do so?



Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk


__________________
2015 1500 Laramie 2x4 5.7Hemi 3.92 8 speed Crew Cab 5'-7"Bed
MY BUILD THREAD
LilRamie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 06:28 PM   #209 (permalink)
 
tones2SS's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 2,597

Ram Year: 2016
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
Originally Posted by Witch View Post
But I continued to look through all the settings and came across a setting called auto play. turned that on and boom
I did this today and it works awesome.
Every once in a while I take the thumbdrive out to update it with new music on the desktop computer and it doesn't get recognized right away when I put it back in the truck. The 'AUTOPLAY' seemed to fix it.
Good call!
tones2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Uconnect 8.4 update? JustB_rad Audio & Electronics 1 01-16-2017 11:32 AM
Uconnect Update FlynDutchman Audio & Electronics 67 04-17-2016 12:05 PM
UConnect S/W Update guzzel Audio & Electronics 12 09-29-2015 12:09 AM
Uconnect 5.0 still no update? lilzilla2008 Audio & Electronics 40 08-10-2015 04:24 PM
UConnect update for 5/21/13 jwb Audio & Electronics 124 07-08-2013 10:07 AM

<




GM Truck Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum