Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Dodge Truck Forums > Dodge Ram Generations Forum > 3rd Gen : 2002 - 2008 > Audio & Electronics


Audio & Electronics

Need help! Remote start


This is a discussion on Need help! Remote start within the Audio & Electronics forums, part of the 3rd Gen : 2002 - 2008 category!
Yea I just found a wiring diagram for it so I'm gunna try it and see if it works if ...


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2017, 12:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Age: 24
Posts: 31

Ram Year: 2003
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
Yea I just found a wiring diagram for it so I'm gunna try it and see if it works if not then I'm just taking it somewhere to get it done


Sponsored Ad
Register to remove this ad.
Mikeyn23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 12:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
crazzywolfie's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: under the truck
Posts: 13,394

Ram Year: 81 93
Engine: 5.2
Default
Originally Posted by Mikeyn23 View Post
Yea I don't have th chip so I don't need the bypass module my brother has the same truck but different remote start I was gunna try and follow off his wires but his remote start has different color wires then the one I got has so I couldn't do that only thing his truck has is two relays for th door locks to work I was trying to see if anyone installed one before or could help me and show me what wires go where
just because you don't have a chipped key doesn't mean your truck doesn't have an immobilizer and need a bypass. if you got a key fob and you press the locked button twice and it honks at you then you can set off the alarm by manually opening the door with a key then you likely have an immobilizer. if you were to set off the alarm like that it would keep you from being able to start your truck until you reset it with the key fob. i know my mom learned this the hard way.


__________________

81 dodge d150 custom long box 318 670CFM Holley Street Avenger Carb
89 RamCharger 4x4 318/727/3.21 on 33's
93 ramcharger 318 FI 2wd
crazzywolfie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 03:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
 
justin13703's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: MD
Age: 27
Posts: 751

Ram Year: 2008
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
Originally Posted by crazzywolfie View Post
just because you don't have a chipped key doesn't mean your truck doesn't have an immobilizer and need a bypass. if you got a key fob and you press the locked button twice and it honks at you then you can set off the alarm by manually opening the door with a key then you likely have an immobilizer. if you were to set off the alarm like that it would keep you from being able to start your truck until you reset it with the key fob. i know my mom learned this the hard way.
While yes this may be considered an immobilizer, an aftermarket immobilizer bypass for remote starts just mimics the chip in the key to let the vehicle start. That's really all they do. If you do not have a chip in the key then you don't need an immobilizer bypass.

With an aftermarket remote start/keyless entry, when installed correctly, it will automatically arm and disarm the factory security system when it needs to so that the scenario you brought up won't happen. This isn't something that you need an immobilizer bypass for. Just a correct install.
justin13703 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 04:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
crazzywolfie's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: under the truck
Posts: 13,394

Ram Year: 81 93
Engine: 5.2
Default
that is good to know but i guess that also proves that you really need to know the vehicle and wiring pretty good to hook up a remote start. i guess i am lucky i only needed to hook up about 5 or 6 wires with my 93 to make the remote start function and turn the heat on.


__________________

81 dodge d150 custom long box 318 670CFM Holley Street Avenger Carb
89 RamCharger 4x4 318/727/3.21 on 33's
93 ramcharger 318 FI 2wd
crazzywolfie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 05:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
 
justin13703's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: MD
Age: 27
Posts: 751

Ram Year: 2008
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
Originally Posted by crazzywolfie View Post
that is good to know but i guess that also proves that you really need to know the vehicle and wiring pretty good to hook up a remote start. i guess i am lucky i only needed to hook up about 5 or 6 wires with my 93 to make the remote start function and turn the heat on.
Yeah back in the day it basically was just energize the ignition and acc circuits, energize the starter, use virtual tach to verify that it started, and a ground. Now there is a lot more circuitry that has to be energized and monitored, relays, diodes etc. parking lights, door locks, interfacing with the factory security system, safety features such as hood switches, it goes on and on.

The real fun ones are remote starts with full security, glass break and shock sensors, cell phone control modules, and immobilizer bypass on a modern, all computerized manual transmission car lol. Done a couple of them before and it took me and another certified installer a full 8 hrs each

Last edited by justin13703; 01-03-2017 at 05:36 PM.
justin13703 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 07:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Age: 23
Posts: 28

Ram Year: 2002
Engine: 5.9 Magnum
Default
Yeah, I think when installed mine there's at least 8 wires that need wired into the ignition harness alone, not to mention the brake, neutral safety, hood pin, alarm, locks, parking lights, horn, door sense and probably a few more. Not to mention the handful of resistors/ relay you'll need to get the locks/ lights/ alarm to function properly.

I happened to have a viper remote start system and bought a dball2 immobilizer bypass. I don't think I'd ever purchase a different one. About 4 wires to the vehicle (6 if you have a chip) and it takes care of the alarm, locks, sentry key immobilizer, tach, and door sense. That's a savings of 4 relays, 4 diodes, 4 resistors and the headache of finding all those wires! I think it actually sends most the info direct to the computer via the OBDII port.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
argroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 10:14 PM   #17 (permalink)
 
justin13703's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: MD
Age: 27
Posts: 751

Ram Year: 2008
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
Originally Posted by argroft View Post
Yeah, I think when installed mine there's at least 8 wires that need wired into the ignition harness alone, not to mention the brake, neutral safety, hood pin, alarm, locks, parking lights, horn, door sense and probably a few more. Not to mention the handful of resistors/ relay you'll need to get the locks/ lights/ alarm to function properly.

I happened to have a viper remote start system and bought a dball2 immobilizer bypass. I don't think I'd ever purchase a different one. About 4 wires to the vehicle (6 if you have a chip) and it takes care of the alarm, locks, sentry key immobilizer, tach, and door sense. That's a savings of 4 relays, 4 diodes, 4 resistors and the headache of finding all those wires! I think it actually sends most the info direct to the computer via the OBDII port.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
Those DBALL units were awesome. For the newer chryslers like you said, it took longer to get to the wiring harness than to do the actual install. It sends and receives all its information through the vehicle's can bus system. I installed one on a friend's Jeep Patriot in like 20 minutes. Last I heard they were removing that functionality from the DBALL because it wasn't profitable enough, but I've been out of the game for a few years so I don't know what ever came of it.

Last edited by justin13703; 01-03-2017 at 10:22 PM.
justin13703 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 10:19 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Age: 23
Posts: 28

Ram Year: 2002
Engine: 5.9 Magnum
Default
Originally Posted by justin13703 View Post
Those DBALL units were awesome. For the newer chryslers like you said, it took longer to get to the wiring harness than to do the actual install. I installed one on a friend's Jeep Patriot in like 20 minutes. Last I heard they were removing that functionality from the DBALL because it wasn't profitable enough, but I've been out of the game for a few years so I don't know what ever came of it.
Yeah, I don't know. I bought mine dishes because it was easier and cheaper than getting the flashing tool. It's biggest bonus was it's "D2D" connection to the remote start unit, otherwise it would have been another 10 wire connections to get it all hooked up. Even still, I would go with a dball2 over any other bypass for these trucks just because it minimizes unit-to-truck connections (less wiring, less to mess up!).

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
argroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote start coolemoff1 4th Gen DIY 15 11-30-2016 11:34 PM
Remote start Hurley91 Audio & Electronics 5 11-26-2016 07:54 PM
wtb: remote start kit oem redrt_12 Audio & Electronics 2 11-11-2014 11:48 PM
Remote Start tkyle486 Audio & Electronics 17 11-12-2013 08:09 AM
remote start & wax job sullivan General Discussions 31 08-30-2011 10:55 PM

<




GM Truck Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum