Sub problems

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

cdyt7717

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hey guys, so I installed a amp/sub that i had previously in my Grand Cherokee. Well, my Ram has a stock radio so I had to use a Line Out Converter to get a signal to the amp. So i got it installed and all ways good... for about 2 weeks. Well, now when I turn up the radio, level knob (on the amp), or bass (on radio) too high, or when something really bass heavy comes on, my amp goes into protect mode. I'll power cycle the amp and everything works fine until i turn it up again. I was wondering if anybody could run through some suggestions with me since i am no audio expert.

A list of the things I have checked.
- Good ground to the body
- Replaced inline power fuse and 2 fuses in amp
- checked B+ voltage when amp goes into protect mode, nothing unususal
- checked voltage on RCA shields when amp cuts out, at low volumes it's about .9V and when it cuts out its at about (-11) to (-14)V
- Sub is not blown, rated at 4 Ohm, measured at 3.6 Ohm

Kapt

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3L
Check your line out adapter. Make sure no wires are crossed anywhere

justin13703

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Probably because your voltage is dropping so much because of the stupid computer controlled alternators on the 06 and up trucks, the amp sees the voltage drop below a certain level and goes into protect mode. That's assuming all of your wiring is correct and grounds are good as you say.