new to ram world, few issues

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

tamcphail89

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Hi all, I'm new to the ram world. I just bought a 1 owner 2010 1500 SLT with 58k miles. It runs really well most of the time, but I've noticed a few things. Is it normal to have a vibration at around 30-40mph when in eco mode? It doesn't do it when i turn tow/haul mode off.

Also, I'm pretty sure there's a possible exhaust leak, cause i notice a definite ticking sound when i start it and upon acceleration. I've read that this is a well known 4th gen issue.

And today i noticed that around 55 and around 70 there's an odd sound coming from somewhere. It almost sounds like a honking sound, or an odd whistling sound. I'm almost positive it's from the front end, and not the rear.

I plan on taking it in to the dealership since i have a comprehensive warranty for a few months. I've never had a dodge, and i really like it, but i hope i didn't buy a problem truck.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

HolyRamBatman

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Welcome to RF. Enjoy the ride!!!

Take it to the dealership and do the warranty thing. At least see what they say. Decide from what you hear and what they say if it's BS or not.

It will give you a place to start. Good luck.

OP
OP
T

tamcphail89

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
That's the plan for right now. I'm just worried that they will not be able to replicate anything. I bought it from a Toyota dealership, so they're not dodge techs.

Beyond that, I'm very impressed with the ride and performance. Are they any other common issues i should look for? Thanks.

dsw1519

Reaction score
Ram Year
2013 Laramie CC 4x4
Engine
HEMI 5.7 8 Spd.