Question about normal or abnormal gear ring

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Bronco628

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I did a fluid change today and while rotating around the gears and looking for anything out of the usual.

First off I am not a mechanic, just a hobbyist who has always done his own vehicle maintenance. That being said I noticed some marring on the ring gear which is not present anywhere else on the ring. I did not notice any maring on the pinion.

I am 3,000 miles away from my 3yr/36000 mile warranty. Is this something of concern that I should bring to the dealerships attention?

gears017-15-2012.jpg
gears027-15-2012.jpg
gears037-15-2012.jpg

Last edited:

swamp_life hemi 05

Reaction score
Ram Year
2005 laramie
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Check the thickness of the teeth that are scarred and compare to the other teeth if they are wore down greatly, I would bring it to the dealers attention. But if its just a scar and not any cracks or breaks it should be fine till you swap them out.

It aint easy.... bein' Easy ;)

OP
OP
Bronco628

Bronco628

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I unfortunately did not measure the thickness. The amount of metal didn't look too worn at all. I will bring it up to them on my visit next week.

jlb

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
CTD
It is possible that it is just a bypropuct of the machining process... They may have had some tooling that was a little too close to end of life replacement, and they had to touch up your ring gear after the fact...