Transmission maintenance

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

smiley

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 Ram 2500 Crew
Engine
6.7L Cummins
So the time has come to do some maintenance on my truck as she has just over 35000 miles.

My question comes from my experience at my dealer today. I asked how much it is to do a fluid change and service guy says $169.99. Not a terrible price I am thinking labor filters I think there is two filters and all that ATF+4.

Well continue talking and he says they don't replace filters just "flush" the system. HUGE RED FLAG!!!

I am not an expert but have had about 10 vehicles and never done a transmission. Seems to me a person would be better off changing the filters and not changing the fluid if I was going to choose.

Why should I choose though? That is what is bugging me. Why would they not be changing the filters and as much ATF as possible. When I change my motor oil I never choose I do both and the filter is the most important part just ask any Amsoil person.

Just looking for some discussion on this and I would also like to know what your local dealer says.

$miley

Heath

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 CTD
So if they do a flush are they not dropping the pan or draining it?? Not sure how that can even be done. If the pan comes off, the filter change is a no brainer.
Something doesn't sound right there.

KGBIGCOUNTRY

Reaction score
Ram Year
2004 RCSB/2005 QCSB
Engine
5.7 / 5.7
BG has a Trans flush system that I bet they are using. You hook up two quick connects in the test ports on the trans and push out the old fluid with the new. I have seen it done before but didnt go in depth with why the filters were not changed also.

05singlecabHEMI

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 HEMI