Diagnostic Info

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jotin

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
If anyone ever needs diagnostic info I can get whatever needed. I'm a tech for dodge here in north Dallas.
I specialize in drivability, electrical and a/c.
Feel free to hit me up for stuff!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Core-Lokt

Reaction score
Ram Year
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 ST
Engine
5.7L
Thank you for the offer, and I'll take you up on it. I have one code on my truck; P0463. I'll give you the history of it, as it might help in diagnosis. It's a 2005 5.7 with manual transmission.

Almost to the day, my original fuel pump went out. I had it replaced at a mechanic shop two blocks from where it stopped running. Everything was fine for two or three months and then the gauge stopped working. I figured they installed the cheapest fuel module they could buy. As the truck otherwise runs well, I decided to run it for a while to get my money out of the repair.

Last weekend, I replaced the fuel module. After the pump primed, it started fine and otherwise is just like it was the day before I did it-reliable, but no functioning gauge. I did the cluster test and the fuel gauge sweeps, so I think I can rule that out. The idea that I got a crap fuel module is possible. I didn't test the sending unit before installing it. Yet I can't quite buy into the sender also being bad on this pump, also.

Putting the possible issue of a brand-new sending unit defective out of the box (we can come back to that, if needed), there's just wiring, I think. I have the wiring diagrams and as best I can make out, the two center wires on the fuel module harness are for the sending unit. One is BL/GN and the other is BL/RD, IIRC. The BL/GN should be the ground per the diagram.