I see grease…busted CV?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RamGentry13

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hey guys Im definitely more of a lurker than a poster but im always browsing so i have searched this subject…anyway i was under my truck changing the oil and did a quick inspection and found grease. A good amount of it, and it was coming from my CV joint (i believe). Like the metal "strap" that seems to hold the rubber boot on is covered in it. Its on the driver side on the "strap" closest to the engine. I need to borrow my sisters camera (broke mine mountain biking) and take some pics. Its still driving ok but i can occasionally hear a grinding while turning. :Grenade:
So does this sound like a busted CV joint to you guys?
Im not incompetent with vehicles but im not a mechanic, is this a do-able job for someone to do in there garage?:superhack:
aaand last question, is there better replacement parts yet or should i replace with OEM?
Thanks in advance guys/gals
-Dave

ramhunter9

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
P-Star Jeep Wrangler
pics would be great but sounds like a CV to me . do you have any slack in it ?

OP
OP
R

RamGentry13

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
im not too sure what you mean by slack…as in my steering? I havent really noticed that, mybe a lil? i just snapped some pics with my sisters camera, ill post up shortly

rocket

Licensed Dynacologist
Reaction score
Ram Year
was 2006
Engine
was a HEMI 5.7