Rear Differential Leak

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RamForLife

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7

This is the leak and where it is leaking from my rear differential. I was having a squeaking sound when reversing, and read that my U Joints were more than likely going bad anyways, so no better time I guess than when I'm going to have the drive shaft off already.

I'm not a huge gear head, but I'm a finish carpenter, and enjoy doing my own work on my vehicles (do a lot of work on my bike.) Just wondering what seal exactly I'm going to need to replace, and how hard it is. Read up a little on it and read that there might be a crush bearing in there, and was wondering if this was true for this generation of truck.

It is a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500 Mega Cab 4x4, 5.7L Hemi. Just wondering how much of a pain this is going to be to change, and possibly the U-Joints as well. Have the weekend, so any talk throughs, links, ect, would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

PS: It's leaking enough to where I've owned the truck for about a month now, and it had it's first drop come off it, just a big fan of preventative maintenance, so would like to take care of it, before it becomes a bigger problem. Thanks.

05ram4x4

Reaction score
Ram Year
2002 Ram 2500 4x4 Quad cab
Engine
5.9 Magnum
Do a search for replacing your pinion seal. I know I have to do mine, but I'm not sure I wanna tackle it myself. I know there are a few threads on here about doing it. Take a look! If you do it, it would be great if you posted about how you did it! Take pics too!

MegaMouseGW

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
SRT 10 Viper Motor and Tranny