Temp Control

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RyanC

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemy 5.7
Hey guys

First post. Fixing up my '03 1500 Laramie 5.7 Hemi after taking it out of 9 months of storage.

My engine runs a little on the cold side. Could this be the reason that the duel climate control heaters isn't as hot on the driver side as it is on the passenger side? It's been like this for a few years and I don't want to be driving around in another Canadian winter freezing with all the heaters on full blast.

My heavy duty mechanic friend reckons that it may be the thermostat or water pump.

Any body else have some insight?

I'm not a mechanic but I do a lot of driver/self preventative maintenance on vehicles over the years.

Cheers,

Ryan

usaf2006

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
How cold does it run. Thermostats are cheap, so after sitting it may be worth it to change. Maybe it's stuck open. Other than that idk. I would think it would run hot if the pump had issues.

OP
OP
R

RyanC

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemy 5.7
So if it's not the thermostat, it could be the heater valve, which I don't think I'd be able to fix myself.

Here's a pic of the operating temp.

Attachments

• Photo 2014-10-27, 12 40 20.jpg
    Photo 2014-10-27, 12 40 20.jpg
    95.7 KB · Views: 75
OP
OP
R

RyanC

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemy 5.7
sorry for the sideways photo. Stupid iPhone

usaf2006

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Does it stay there our fluctuate. Long shot but maybe its a fault temp sensor. Otherwise I'm out of ideas lol.
I guess you could wing it and start replacing things lol

OP
OP
R

RyanC

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemy 5.7
I'll keep an eye on it and follow up. I'll keep doing my own research as well.