1998 Dodge Ram 1500 5.9 2WD

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

98Bigred

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hey. I'm new to these posting, it's nice to join the family, I just have a quick maybe easy replys for some of you guys on here

But anyways I have a 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 5.9 2WD truck. And the past couple days my wife noticed a squeal sound coming from the passager side of my truck, and my first thought was my Wheel Bearing because I had one go out on me before on my 1996 Dodge Ram 2WD truck. So I toke the front wheels off and checks the rotors and made sure they were the right tightest and didn't have any play in them. Ah tho when my tire is on and I am holding my wheel at 12 and 6 I have a little play, I believe that is because my ball joints are going bad. This sound is driving me nuts and it's pretty scary because I had a Wheel Bearing go out on me when I was on the freeway! Not fun! I have replaced all 4 shocks and sway bar bushings and sway bar links and inner and outer tie rods. It seem to be when I replaced my sway bar links the sound had accorded and I'm not sure if that is what is making the sound. I pulled and pushed on them but not sound coming from them, no sound coming from when I am spinning the wheel, the Wheel Bearing sound normal to me. No weird sound. I'm complete lost, anything will help. Thank you guys.

dudeman2009

Reaction score
Ram Year
2001 1500 Sport with enough electrical modifications to make my brain hurt
Engine
Magnum 360
Just the type of sound speaks a ton. Is it constant with speed, change pitch or frequency? Does it seem to sound like a seesaw? Are you sure its coming from the front? Do the pads and rotors look glazed?

OP
OP

98Bigred

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine