2000 Ram 3500 Soft Brakes

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

kminnich

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
v10
Firstly, let me clarify, I am by no means an automotive mechanic. I have a 2000 Ram 3500 4X4 that has been experiencing brake problems for some time now. The symptoms were/are soft pedal, brake light would come on occasionally then go out, the brakes would grab occasionally, and the brake lights remain on for about 15 seconds after releasing the pedal
I couldn't figure out what was wrong so I took it to a BrakeMax in Tucson AZ, they replaced the booster unit, master cylinder, some brake lines, 2 wheel cylinders, power steering line to booster, steering gear box, power steering pump & reservoir, did a power steering flush, and a brake system flush ($2000.00!!!).
They kept the truck for two days and when I went to pick it up the breaks were still soft! When I press the pedal it would slowly sink all the way to the floor. The truck would stop but it does so kind of slowly. The mechanic said that there is air in the power steering system that will dissipate after a couple of days. I am thinking that I just received the royal shaft without the pleasure of Vaseline!
Given, all the parts that were replaced, the flushing’s, and bleeding what else could possibly be wrong with this trucks brake system? Also, since I feel no change in the before/after repair how do I handle this with the business, they obviously replaced a bunch of parts that did not need replacing?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

dapepper9

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L V8
Air doesn't bleed off in time. It's a sealed hydraulic system. Hence the reason for a bleed screw. There is definitely air in the system. I also don't think all of that needed replaced, probably just the booster. Find a different shop

dapepper9

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L V8