back to basics

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
magnun 5.9
Hi guys, i am new in the ram world, i just got a 1996 ram runner 5.9 ( not the one that´s the raptor competitor ) it was a sport trimming limited edition that was offer in mexico ( where i live ).
the thing is that i want to have my truck as original as posible and there are a few things that are not working and maybe you can help me with that.
how can i make the buzzers from the ignition and lights on and seatbelts work again? there is no alarm whatsoever when i turn it on, no seatbelt alarm, no lights or key on noise. i want all the chimes and dimes back, please throw me some light on this

Gr8bawana

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 CTD
I would start by checking all your fuses.

Rado

US NAVY VETERAN
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Pentastar 3.6 V6
First WELCOME to the group.. I am sure the gear heads will chim in soon to help! But I agree with checking the fuses. Then check any connections you can find. Please post what you find as you may help someone else :)

dapepper9

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L V8
There is no seat belt light/noise (i would know, i rarely use mine). Only real buzzing/chimes are if you leave the headlights on with the door open and things like that

crazzywolfie

Reaction score
Ram Year
81 93
Engine
i think it depends on how they disabled the chime. i think the chime mechanism is in the fuse panel on a 96. most people usually disconnect the connector on the ignition switch. i have down a few. i don't really know anyone who likes them.
2aj5dso.jpg
34fdzpz.jpg

Last edited:
OP
OP
R
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
magnun 5.9
There is no seat belt light/noise (i would know, i rarely use mine). Only real buzzing/chimes are if you leave the headlights on with the door open and things like that