Buying 2000 Ram 1500 P.U.--What to Check Out?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Aries Rising

Reaction score
Ram Year
199?
Engine
Hi all, (Dodge) Noob here,

I'm a longtime Ford truck fan, but I can't get behind anything they've offered since they killed the 4.9L/300 cu. in. "Big Six" back in 1996, allegedly because it wouldn't fit under the new "aero-style" hoods of the 1997 F-150.

That said, I'm going to look at a friend-of-a-friend's (unadvertised) 2000 Dodge Ram pickup truck, which he might consider taking about $2,500. for. It's just over 100K miles, a 4x2, V-8, and supposedly in pretty good shape.

Here Are My Questions:

1. Are there any known issues or weak points in the 2ns Gen. gas-powered trucks? (like Ford's spark plug problem) that I should watch out for, generally?

2. Re: front suspension. The (potential) Seller says he thinks it may need shocks. This makes me concerned that things like ball joints, tie rod ends, the "track bar," etc...might be prematurely worn.

I plan to jack up the truck, under the "A-arms" and wiggle the above parts, and look for telltale, unwanted movement.

a). But does anyone else have a specific ways they'd like to suggest I test these components?

3. Does anyone have a GENERAL CHECKLIST of things to go over, in the 2nd Generation Ram 1500 pickups?

Here are a few videos I found helpful:

What's a Track Bar???
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=45pphLDR2js

How to Tell if Your Tie Rod is Bad
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=brI2feYiEi8#t=61.701854

I'm hoping someone can save themselves a lot of typing, and simply direct me to links, and save themselves a lot of typing.

Thanks, in advance,

Aries Rising

Yeret

The Village Drunk
Reaction score
Under the hood fixing/breaking something.
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 Magnum