Cummins issue, thinking about buying.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jbmobbs

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 360
I found a 97 dodge cummins 12v 4x4 runs perfect, but he said water has gotten in the oil and he parked it immediately, what would be the main cause, he said he thinks it's an oil cooler, iv never heard of an oil cooler on a 12v pickup, but I'm new to the diesel scene.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Treburkulosis

Your High End Detailer
TOTM Winner
Reaction score
Ram Year
2012 Lonestar Edition converted over to a Sport
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Sounds like a blown head gasket to me.

dudeman2009

Reaction score
Ram Year
2001 1500 Sport with enough electrical modifications to make my brain hurt
Engine
Magnum 360
Water in oil on a diesel is usually caused by the oil cooler if it has one. I know Semis running Cummins engines have them, i'm not sure for the pickup guys. I'd get yourself a diesel compression tester, or rent one from an autozone or something and check it out. In my experience, the only thing that kills a Cummins head gasket, is being overheated. If thats the case, i'd borescope the thing to make sure there isn't damage on the pistons or cylinder wall.

Head gaskets are pretty easy on the Cummins compared to the powerstrokes or duramaxes, mostly because they are inline engines. The only thing to pay attention to that differs from a gasser, is the high pressure fuel injection pump and lines.

IrocRam

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine