NO Drive, NO Reverse, ROUGH 1st Gear

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

KansasRam1997

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L 360 Magnum
Hi, I've recently rebuilt the engine in my truck and it runs good, however transmissions aren't my forte. The truck will not engage in anything, but 1st gear and even that it's very SLOW and there's barely any power at all. Did I do something wrong with the gearshift linkage? Before I rebuilt the engine, the transmission would slip here and there, but it always let me go in drive and reverse. I'm still a rookie, but any advice will help thank you!

Merc225hp

Reaction score
Ram Year
truck
Engine
gas
Hi, I've recently rebuilt the engine in my truck and it runs good, however transmissions aren't my forte. The truck will not engage in anything, but 1st gear and even that it's very SLOW and there's barely any power at all. Did I do something wrong with the gearshift linkage? Before I rebuilt the engine, the transmission would slip here and there, but it always let me go in drive and reverse. I'm still a rookie, but any advice will help thank you!

U check the fluid level in N running at opt temp??? Is the ctv cable hooked up and adjusted right? if all this is a yes tranny is toast.

OP
OP
K

KansasRam1997

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L 360 Magnum
U check the fluid level in N running at opt temp??? Is the ctv cable hooked up and adjusted right? if all this is a yes tranny is toast.

I found the problem... I'm not sure what it's called but all I did was tighten a bolt that connected to a rod from the steering gear. The transmission engages now, but there's barely any power getting to the wheels. It might be an intake problem? Let me know of any advice, thanks guys

MagSport

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine