Water Noise

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

diverjer

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
That is a strange title, but that is what I am hearing. I am new to owning a Dodge, so figured this might be normal for Dodge. While driving, I can hear what sounds like running water behind the radio area in dash. When accelerating, you can hear it going faster, pretty soon it isn't as noisy.

I figure this is water going through the heater core in dash. It does it with dial turned all the way to heat, cold or in the middle. I also figured this may be normal for a 1996 Ram 1500, but wanted to ask the folks that know. The radiator is full as well as the overflow plastic tank.

This really seems like a dumb question, but will post anyway.

OP
OP
diverjer

diverjer

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Thanks guys, I read that thread and understand what is going on, I thought it might be air, but don't remember having anything like that before. Yes it is louder when cold, guess it heats up and expands the water enough the air bubble is smaller or disappears until cooler. Well tomorrow I will be burping the Dodge.

OP
OP
diverjer

diverjer

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Well I parked on an incline and took off radiator cap, put heater all way to red and let run for about 45 minutes. Then tonight went out to go to volleyball game and still made water noise in heater core. Not much, maybe less, not sure???

Then I got to thinking (which can be dangerous), until the water heats up and opens up thermostat water shouldn't even be circulating through heater core to make any noise- isn't that correct?