Possible dumb question- making long arm lift lower

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

IrocRam

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I posted a thread in another forum about potentially buying another 2nd gen, so I will spare all the details of my past and settle on the specific questions I have relating to a specific truck I might buy.

It is a 1997 1500 5.2 auto 4x4 with a fabtech longarm lift on it. Not sure on the size, but it must be pretty big because it has 36" tires on it and has room for probably another 2 or 3" before it rubs slightly. It appears to have been done professionally, not in somebody's backyard. Although, I am not an expert on suspension work. I didn't check for part numbers on the suspension components so I can't confirm for sure what size, but I know it's a long arm lift. It has the bars bolt to the brackets that are welded to the frame about a foot and a half maybe 2 feet behind the tire on the frame rails. Has dual struts up front. My question might sound dumb, but the tires on it are brand new 36" micky thompson tires, so i might keep them if i buy the truck. I want to get rid of the hap however that's above them. I won't be doing any serious wheeling with it, or daily driving it a whole lot as I'm sure this truck gets 10 mpg on a good day. So, are there ways to manipulate any part of the lift without replacing anything to get it an inch or 2 lower? Can I crank the torsion bars (i'm assuming that's what they are welded to the frame) to lower them without replacing the coils, or would the taller coils prevent this? I'm not looking to lower it a ton, but if I can get an inch maybe 2" i think it would sit perfectly. Not my first choice to have one this lifted, but I am looking at a lower price range, and this truck is surprisingly a better truck overall when talking about issues it has that need or I will want to