Removing the body lift

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

johnnyg23

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hi all, i just signed up to the forums today, so I'm a newbie. I have a 99 Dodge Ram Quad Cab 1500 4x4. It has 4" suspension lift, 3" body lift and 37 " tires. I want to get smaller tires and remove the body lift. I know it might sound crazy, but these big tires are just burning too much fuel and it's difficult for my kids to get in and out of. Any suggestions on an easy removal of the body lift would be much appreciated. Is it something I can do in my driveway with the help of a few buddies? Let me know.

rambob

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
318 5.2l
I'm going to need to see pictures before I can answer this!
:naughty:
mainly b/c I want to put a BL on mine and run 37s

you can search for BL installation and see what involved, but yes. most people with some wrenching experience and a small amount of tools and a jack or two, can do it in the driveway.
you may need to buy shorter body mount bolts when you remove the ones needed for the 3" of extra space.
I'd say give your self a full day, maybe some time for a 2nd for if you break stuff.
a few extra hands is very helpful.

OP
OP
J

johnnyg23

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I'm going to need to see pictures before I can answer this!
:naughty:
mainly b/c I want to put a BL on mine and run 37s

you can search for BL installation and see what involved, but yes. most people with some wrenching experience and a small amount of tools and a jack or two, can do it in the driveway.
you may need to buy shorter body mount bolts when you remove the ones needed for the 3" of extra space.
I'd say give your self a full day, maybe some time for a 2nd for if you break stuff.
a few extra hands is very helpful.