Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Dodge Truck Forums > Dodge Ram Generations Forum > 2nd Gen : 1994 - 2002 > Lifted

Lifted

Replacing shocks

This is a discussion on Replacing shocks within the Lifted forums, part of the 2nd Gen : 1994 - 2002 category!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2016, 07:50 PM   #1 (permalink)

Ram Year: 1998
Engine: 5.9L V8
Default Replacing shocks
My '98 Ram 2500 standard cab 44 needs new shocks. I'm fairly certain that the suspension has been lifted by a previous owner. The existing shocks are dirty and rusty enough that reading the model number off of them is impossible.

1) How can I figure out what size of shocks to buy as replacements? I'm a newbie to the world of lifted trucks, but I understand the shocks have to be sized to the number of inches of lift. (My WAG is 4" or 6" but I don't want to order new shocks based on guesswork. )

2) Any wisdom on brands/models of shocks to buy is appreciated. The truck's primary duty is towing a 39' gooseneck horse trailer. (Roughly 9000# loaded trailer weight) It gets driven 3-4 times/wk, and I'm expecting to keep it for >>5 years. I'd love some "Does the job and lasts forever" type shocks

3) Are there any specific parts I should inspect/ replace while changing the shocks?

FWIW, I'm a pretty decent DIY mechanic and shouldn't needed much hand holding.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

Sponsored Ad
Register to remove this ad.
svdsinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2016, 10:47 PM   #2 (permalink)

Ram Year: 1997
Engine: 5.2
I have never owned them, but Bilsteins are something I would recommend. I recently put a set on my dad's f350 and it was quite noticeable how much better they were than the other shocks he had. He tows anything from 5th wheels that are over 30 feet long, to flatbed trailers with material on them. I work with people who had them on their truck and have had them on for more than a few years and they still ride great.