Rear drum??

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Max10101

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hi guys im new to this for but yesterday on my way to work my truck made this whining noise that got louder with speed and it came out of no where. Well i dont think its the diff but it could be. The noise would go away for the most part when i let off the throttle and i could feel some vibration. As the day went on i went home and it stopped for a while at speeds between 25-40 and then a few miles from home it mad a crazy whirring noise from what sounded like the passenger rear wheel so it leads me to it being a bad drum or wheel bearing hub assembley. Any thoughts guys? Thanks!

OP
OP
M

Max10101

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I should add

01 ram 1500 5.2 148000 4wd

auskip07

Reaction score
Ram Year
s
Engine
s
Guess you will have to take the wheel and drum off to check.

Johnn123

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi
Hi guys im new to this for but yesterday on my way to work my truck made this whining noise that got louder with speed and it came out of no where. Well i dont think its the diff but it could be. The noise would go away for the most part when i let off the throttle and i could feel some vibration. As the day went on i went home and it stopped for a while at speeds between 25-40 and then a few miles from home it mad a crazy whirring noise from what sounded like the passenger rear wheel so it leads me to it being a bad drum or wheel bearing hub assembley. Any thoughts guys? Thanks!

Jack the front of your truck up and spin the wheels. See if you can hear it or feel any grinding. Also going to need to remove the rear wheels and inspect the drums.

BlackMagnum2000

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 Magnum