water on floor, from the rain? or heater core?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Mikep1016

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hi all, I am new to this sight so I need to learn the ropes. Ok,well for starters I need some input on a leak I have in my 1998 Dodge ram 1500. I found that my passenger floor is wet. I just got this truck so I am finding out what it needs. I used to have a 1994 Ram 1500 and it also always had a leak on the passenger floor. I'm sure someone can tell me what's up with this problem that lots of Dodge trucks seem to have. They mostley rot on the bottom of the doors too. Since I am a new Dodge owner I am not familiar with most of their common problems. My truck is great but I cannot put up with a wet floor.I'm not sure yet where it came from,weather it leaked in while it was raining or possably my heater core. Please point me in the most common direction to try first. And possably also a way too slow down the rusting on my doors if I were to repair them or start over with new ones. Most important right now is my wet floor. I believe it came in from somewhere while it was raining,,but i am open to any help or oppinions. Thanks.

HolyRamBatman

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Welcome to RF. Third brake light is a common leaking problem. The back window is another. Is the back carpet wet as well? Is there a smell of antifreeze inside the truck? If so it's probably the heater core. I found my leak coming out of the condensate tube in engine compartment. It would come out of tube and roll back on the outside and into the cab. The grommet around the tube was shot. Good luck.

How could I forget the rear window??? I'm sealing mine tomorrow.

Last edited:

Brian N

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi
Almost every Dodge that I have owned had a leak some where.