5.9 Magnum will not run right

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RedDodge

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 Magnum
Hello all, I have been a long time reader but this is my first time posting.
I have a 2000 Ram 1500 with a 5.9L Magnum engine. The truck is a 4x4 automatic trans with 214XXX miles on it. It will start up and idle just fine on the initial start-up, but as soon as I start driving down the road it will bog like it is starving for fuel. When I come up to a stop the RPMs will drop to anywhere between 300 and 500 and then shoot back up to regular idle at about 650 when I come to a complete stop. Recently, it has also intermittently started backfiring out of the manifold under load, however it doesn't always do this.
I have replaced the TPS, the IAC, the MAF, the throttle body, redone all of the gaskets on the manifold, including the plenum, also replaced the water pump and thermostat while I had it torn apart. It has a brand new cap, rotor, plugs, wires, and ignition coil as well. I will be replacing the O2 sensors as soon as I get my new exhaust in, hopefully this weeked. When it originally started losing power it seemed like a plugged up cat, so I deleted it and am putting in a flowmaster high flow cat with new O2 sensors.

On a side note, I've read that backfiring out of the tb can indicate a lean condition, is that correct? I also pulled all of my plugs and they where bone dry and white.

Anybody with any ideas of what could be causing this would be greatly appreciated!

SYKRAMMAN

Banned
Reaction score
Ram Year
06 Mega
Engine
Might have skipped a tooth or two, have you tried advancing the timing a smidge?

OP
OP
R

RedDodge

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 Magnum
I was under the impression that timing on these engines could not be changed without a PCM tuner... is this not correct?

SYKRAMMAN

Banned