94 1500 318

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

swillest

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
94 318 rough start/ idle/ fuel cutting out

Hello all,

I am new to RF, new to Dodge, new to trucks..but my enthusiasm has only begun.:roflsquared:

I bought the truck off of craigsist for 900$ cash. It has 91k miles on it (motor looked like it; no compression test was done) It has the usual 20 year old rust, an exhaust leak in the inter med. pipe, and a clean intake keggar. It drove great when I test drove it, and all the way home too.

This was to be my daily driver and possibly hauler (has towing lights/package already installed) at work. My usual car treatment began. Oil change, seafoam in the vacuum( only 1/3 can), full tank of gas, repaired small vac leak, changed spark plugs(look for issues mostly), and seafoam in the gas tank as well. Looked at the IAC (clean as a whistle), throttle body was too.

Then the last 211 miles have been treacherous. A rough idle began, missfires began (no fouling though), surging when taking off, not steady power flow. I immediately repaired the exhaust leak. She ran a touch better, but as I continued to drive her: she got worse. The catalytic converter began to rattle, suspect to a clog. IR Temperature readings indicated a clog, so I replaced with a magnaflow cat and new o2 sensor (******** never used anti-seize). About 1/8th of gas left in the tank, she left me high and dry in an intersection when she stalled out at a complete stop. It would not restart. I waited about half hour (40 deg outside) she fired up.. but seemed like she wanted to stall at any point when i slow down to stop.