Advice on gear ratio

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

OP
OP
the codes

the codes

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Magnum 5.2
Not worth it ... IMO . Those gears are just to low for a full size truck . Why they come from the factory is beyond me

agreed

If you have that kind of money to spend you have enough to not even think about gas mileage. Who care about MPG when you have thousands to throw into rims,tires & gears?

well, im a college student and my grades are good, so scholarships have covered my expenses. I figured besides putting money into my retirement fund since social security will most likely dry up by the time I retire, that i mind as well have some fun with my money while I can before I can married and have bills and my wife and kids steal all my money...haha

Opinions on gears...about as varied as the trucks and ther owners themselves.

One thing is constant...the more unsrung weight you add from large tires and the more weight you add to your truck, the more torque you need to get that mass moving.
Gears are torque multipliers, simple as that. They are also horsepower bleeders, thats why you lose top end when you install them.

Its also unfair to compare a cummins truck, which makes around 400 ft/lb of torque to the same wheel base gasser, which makes around half that.

So....rather than give an opinion, I present a handy dandy chart that helps you determine what a gas vehicle should gear to.
Remember...Multiply the given rpm by .85 to get your overdrive rpm at 65 mph.

Tire & Gear Ratio Chart at Morris 4x4 Center

For the OP's application, if you are going to run a 35 inch tire, with a wider heavier rim, you should be running 4:56's You'll be running 2418 rpm in OD at 65. That will hurt your mileage slightly, but no worse than bucking a headwind with a full load and the OD off... with 4:10s.