cooling system trouble and 4 wheel drive not working.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

rynoschmidt88

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
v8 magnum 5.9
I have a 96 ram 1500 v8 5.9 sport. I just bought it with 165k a month ago. The car lot told me they had put a new transfer case in it and thats all. Its all stock. Has a 97 ,T case,. Sence I got it it was loosing coolant and found out the timing cover gasket was bad. So I replaced that. ( and of cprse oil pan gasket). Did 195° t stat. And new water pump. I drained the flued but I made the mistake of not flushing it very well. I filled it. Burped it though. But the problem is it still runs hot. Im no master mechanic... not yet anyways. But I catch on. I hear a trickling or"rushing water throuh pipes sound" in my dash. Usually when I press on the gas. Engine runs 195°- about 250, I've seen it get up too. Heater core blockage maybe? A/c still blows cold. Any advice? I am going to properly flush it today. Hoeses look good. I aint loosing coolant no more. It is runong hot off and on. Imm gonna try and flush through the heater core hoses too. Is that a bad idea? Also a week after I got the truck the 4 wheel drive went out. Car lot blamed me saying I cant shift to 4 wheel high while in drive. For the cooling system trouble the car lot took $250 off my next 2 payments. It was a as is warranty buy. So I get what I got. Anyway is the 4 wheel drive isseue something else besides th t case? Ive done a lot of research on this truck and I ain't giving up until its running like a champ. Need some pointers from u guys.

MoparMagic'00

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.2 Magnum