Engine Replacement

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Dwprog

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.2 liter
My engine on my 1999 RAM 1500 went out, sorta.
Cylinder 8 has zero compression. It still runs, but definitely runs rough. There is only 111K miles on it.
Anyways, I was considering just using this engine to teach myself how to either rebuild or replace. My experience is not that great. I have never done engine work before. Most I have done was replace the rotors, calipers, and brake lines.
After sitting in the garage for 2 months I was finally able to get an hour of time and removed the valve cover on the left side hoping I would see something noticeable. This is when I realized that I do not have the time to screw with trying to rebuild an engine (if I want to drive it within the next couple years) so I am looking into just either getting it replaced or replacing it myself.
My question is this...
How difficult is it to replace this engine? Should I look into a small block or long block? For someone who has never done this before would it be silly for me to even attempt? I am pretty mechanically inclined so I catch on to things pretty easily, but I'm just concerned that I'll do something that would screw it all up on accident.
Plus I want my damn truck running because I could really use it right now.
Money is an issue as well. I called around and to have a shop do it it would cost as much as the truck is worth, if not more. Roughly $3,200.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks a lot!!

Nick

Max78

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Magnum 5.9
IF you are hard up for cash, I would call around to the local junk yards and see what you can find engine wise, should be plenty out there.

Car-Part.com is a great source of parts already pulled and ready to install.