Motor swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reed4004

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 Magnum
Hi guys, I'm new to the ram family, but I'm loving it so far. I have a 2002 quad cab with the 5.9 magnum . And I was wondering how hard it would be to put a hemi in it an what it would take? The 5.9 just ain't got the speed that I would like to have.

rammanriley20

Reaction score
Ram Year
1999 Ram 1500
Engine
5.9 Mag
dont think it would be worth all the work. if your gonna spend that kinda money just turbo or supervcharge it man.

gunner1374

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
HEMI 5.7
Anything is possible if you have the drive and the cash, haha. I would do it for the extra power, reliability, and aftermarket availability. Not sure what all would be involved for cost, but it would be an awesome install once completed. Good luck!

ADudeOnSkis

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
318/5.2 Magnum
It's a truck, it was never meant to go fast. Just keep that in mind throughout the process.
That being said, there are quite a few things you can do to a 360/5.9 to get more performance that are WAY more cost effective and will probably give you less headache than a hemi swap.