Quick and easy tune up on 98 ram 1500 5.9L

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mjp

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L
I have a 1998 Dodge Ram 2 wheel drive 1500 with the 5.9 liter in it. My truck has 135000 miles on it. It was my grandfathers truck so I'm very cautious of what I do to it and very fond of it. I'm not a vehicle expert by any means and don't know a lot at all. I'm wondering if anyone knows of some quick and maybe simple ways to enhance the performance of the truck. Basically like a "tune up" I guess. Fuel filter? Spark plugs? Air filter? Transmission stuff? Those are just some ideas I'm talking about but if other things that I didn't mention can be useful please help me out. Any help will greatly appreciated. Thanks for taking time to read

Max78

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Magnum 5.9
Fuel filter in in the tank and not easily accessible, dont worry about it.

Super Basic
Fresh plugs, cap, rotor, and wires (wires routed as per-service bulletin).

A little more involved
Fresh oil, transmission fluid, transfer case fluid, and the always forgotten diff fluids (Both of them!). If you have an auto adjust your kick down cable (google it) They stretch over time and as a result the transmission feels sluggish and sloppy, I adjusted mine about 3/16"" more exposed cable and my gear changes are nice and firm and right where I want them!

Even more involved on the fluid side
Fresh coolant, power steering fluid, brake fluid.

A lot more involved
Replace the stock hot-water heater sized muffler with a new "free flowing" muffler. Dynomax Super Turbo is a super low cost muffler that has excellent flow and a great sound. This is the one I installed and it sound great!