Surging idle

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Muddytazz

Reaction score
Ram Year
2013 Ram 2500HD 4x4
Engine
Hemi baby
Ok, beings as I'm new to the dodge world I'm trying to learn all I can. Prior to this 97 I've solely been a chevy guy. So I'm needing help here.

Whether the 5.9 is cold or warm, sitting in park or in drive at a stop or light, the idle will surge up and down. I know this is not normal, is it just a matter of something dirty or could it be a bad part? I have NOT seen the check engine light once turn on since I bought this truck. Could it throw a code without the check engine light turning on?

Any help in me fixing this would be helpful.

OP
OP
Muddytazz

Muddytazz

Reaction score
Ram Year
2013 Ram 2500HD 4x4
Engine
Hemi baby
Well hopefully that is eliminating a bad part theory.

Badger

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Codes can definately be thrown without the check engine light triggering. Take it to an auto parts store and have it read. It's free to do. Also check your plenum for oil.

OP
OP
Muddytazz

Muddytazz

Reaction score
Ram Year
2013 Ram 2500HD 4x4
Engine
Hemi baby
This has had the plenum upgrade on it before I bought it. Would my ScanGaugeII work for checking codes?

Badger

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Yep scanguage will work. The factory fix doesn't fix the problem forever. They just replaced the gasket. The steel plate was just reused or replaced with a new steel plate. If it was done with a Hughes plate it was done right but the gasket could still fail if installed improperly. Might as well check it since its easy to do. If that's good, and the codes read fine check all your vaccum lines and run some seafoam through it.

OP
OP
Muddytazz

Muddytazz

Reaction score
Ram Year
2013 Ram 2500HD 4x4
Engine
Hemi baby
How do I check the plenum thing myself?

Badger

Reaction score
Ram Year