What does your temp gauge usually run?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
4.7L V8
What's up guys? Just got back into a "new to me" ram. It's a 1997 1500 sport with a 318. The truck is very clean and has been extremely well maintained and overall I'm very happy with it. I do have one question for everyone.. Where does your coolant temp gauge generally run? I had noticed that mine will run around 205-210, but will even get up to around 220 and come back down. I put a new mopar t-stat and coolant temp sensor in it today and I'm seeing essentially the same thing. I'm just curious as to what everyone else is seeing in there trucks. I'm a mechanic myself and this just seemed a little higher than I was used to in the 2013 ram 4.7L that I previously owned. Any input will be appreciated. Thanks again!

dapepper9

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L V8
Here in iowa winter i haven't seen mine reach even 180 yet. Even in summer ive only seen it hit 205 a few times in 100 degree heat. But i run a 180 tstat too

Joe w.

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
318 5.2l
I'm running the 195 stat and mine never gets that high

OP
OP
SmokeycoonhoundUT
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
4.7L V8
I'm gonna give my fan clutch a look in the morning and see if it's getting weak. It's not like it's overheating but it's def a tad abnormal

Mohpar

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Magnum 5.9
180 tstat, usually run under 200 degrees during the cooler weather, was able to find a 8 blade fan that really beats the Texas heat.

Highest truck ever got was 215, stock clutch fan, middle of the Texas summer, middle of the day, running the AC, sitting in highway traffic. 220 seems high, I'd look at a good fan and new clutch.

I believe this is the fan 2003 Dodge Ram Truck Radiator Cooling Fan Blade

With a stock clutch bolted on.

Sport

Reaction score