A518 mods and maint.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

rowdyram

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
magnum 5.9
Ive had a couple people message me with trans questions and a couple people asked for a write up so here it is. I'm no trans expert but I've built a handful of these and repaired/modified more than i can count. a lot of this info will be the same or similar for the A500, A518 and A618.

disclaimer- not my fault if your break stuff or hurt yourself

so.. i guess ill start with the most important. Fluid, I'm a firm believer in fluid and filter every 30,000 miles. ATF +4 fluid only! and that brings me to the next thing and probably the most important mod for any trans, a cooler. trans fluid quickly looses its lubricity above 200 F and that in turn causes friction that causes more heat. put a cooler on it, and if you run it through the factory cooler also consider a 180 F t-stat. (For many reasons). i prefer the Tru-cool from thermal products. it has progressive passages, as the fluid heats up it becomes thinner and is allowed to flow through more of the cooler. but any quality name brand cooler will work. bigger the better.