lockers or dana 60s or both please help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
So basically I'm still new to offroading and yesterday I finally got stuck for the first time. Now I've been saving for dana 60s because I've heard they are the best for basic off roading. But now I realize I need lockers as well. Over the last few hours I've been reading a lot about lockers and I think overwhelmed myself with too much info. So if you had 3k to spend, what would you do? Lockers in stock axles? If so what kind? can the stock axles handle lots of mud, sand, and mild rock crawling? Or just get Dana 60s ? Ideally both but I doubt I can find that in Hawaii for my budget. My truck has a Stock 318 cid motor, 7" lift, 35" tires, and I already have a winch just need to fab a front bumper. What to do? What to do?

rowdyram

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
magnum 5.9
If you plan to run tires bigger than 33s or off road often I highly recommend 3/4 swap. I have rebuilt more 9.25s than I can count. Most running bigger tires. Just built one last week snapped the cross shaft old man owned and never off road but running 35s.
My suggestion is take your 3k and buy a 2500 gas it will have 60s F&R and a powerlok rear if your lucky and likely 4.10s Look for one with a blown trans or wrecked get it cheap swap it and leave the front open. That is what I run do a lot of offroading and I have yet to get stuck. If your patient that is the best way to go. The wrecking yard is going to want more for a set of 60s than you'll pay for a 2500 on Craigslist.