Help a humble chevy guy switch to Ram

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CrazyViking17

Reaction score
Ram Year
?
Engine
?
Hey all. My apologies in advance, I know these posts are probably played out and many will say "use the search function" but I could really use a few pointers to start my research.

I've been a life long chevy guy, which expanded to VW (love my TDI), and became a diesel convert with my M1009 Blazer.

However, as I worked out all the things I wanted to do to my Blazer, i came to the realization that what I seemed to be trying to make... was a Diesel Ram.

So, what I'm asking for, is some suggestions on what years, and models of Ram's I should be in the market for based on my needs.

- mechanically injected Diesel (hate OBD controls, I trust mechanical more)
- 4x4 (I'm a firefighter/emt so getting to the station in bad weather is a must)
- manual transmission (4,5 or 6 speed really, overdrive is preferred but I've got my jetta for fuel economy so a 4 speed is workable).
- solid axle
- 4 door short bed
- fuel economy and reliability is more important than earth rotating power levels. I dont tow regularly, but it would be nice to have the option.
- I may do some mild wheeling in GWNF, off road camping, hunting, fishing, etc, but no serious Rubicon style rock crawling.

That's probably the general overview.

Just looking for year ranges, engine options, what transmissions may be problematic and should be avoided (im familiar with the NV4500 but know nothing else about Ram transmission options beyond that). etc. etc.

Thank you in advance for any and all help. And apologies for such a noob post. I'm in the hiring process for a career firefighter position, and if hired a truck will be part of what I purchase in the following few months. So I'm just starting my research early, figured I'd ask people in the know.