sorry for dumb question, i'm a newbie, if u dont use the exhaust brake does the truck

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

The hippie

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
cummins
sorry for dumb question, i'm a newbie, if u dont use the exhaust brake does the truck consume the diesel exhaust fluid DEF at all? or at a slower rate? TRUCK is 2015 Ram 2500 diesel cummins.

markyfly

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
The exhaust brake and the after treatment system are 2 completely separate things. The exhaust brake slows you down by using the compression of the engine.

The DEF is injected into the exhaust to break down the NOx emissions into nitrogen and oxygen

14hemiexpress

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4l
What he said^^^ no dumb questions here! That's why we're all here is to ask questions and share knowledge.

AirborneRGR

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
You should ALWAYS use the exhaust brake to prevent carbon build up on the actuator in the turbo. It's a variable geometry turbo, over time carbon will build up and prevent it from sliding. Using the exhaust brake, engages the actuator when you let off the throttle, to slow the vehicle.

Long periods of idling are also bad for the turbo and DPF. Delete it.....

xrsman

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 Ecodiesel
I have no input except for the fact that it'll save on brake wear :)

OP
OP
T

The hippie

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
cummins
The exhaust brake and the after treatment system are 2 completely separate things. The exhaust brake slows you down by using the compression of the engine.

The DEF is injected into the exhaust to break down the NOx emissions into nitrogen and oxygen