wash mit or terry cloth to wash black?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Tuffguy707

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 cummins
what is the best thing to use to wash my new black truck. i used a soft hand mit before on my 07 but i was wondering if there is something better to use that wont collect dirt and scratch my new rig.

Cobayashi

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
the only thing that i use is microfiber everything if you hit sam's club you can get a big pack of them for like around $20. the benefits of microfiber are unlike terry or using a wash mitt microfiber fibers are so fine that they actually lift dirt off the surface and clean at the same time leaving no scratches or fine swirl marks at all. i have been using microfiber for 10+ years now and i have never had fine scratches in a car finish. also another thing that you may want to think of is purchasing a good microfiber drying towel it does the same. most of the time you don't end up with fine scratches from washing, you get them from drying absorber towels are great for glass but terrible for paint because they just smear fine dirt particles around even though you washed you vehicle. using a microfiber drying towel lifts these contaminants in the towel and dry's at the same time and also buffs at the same time.

AdamsPolishes

Preferred Vendor
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
A shiny one
A high quality synthetic wash pad or a natural Merino Wool mitt are the only things that should touch your truck to maintain a swirl-free finish.

We offer both of them here:

Adam's Professional Wash Pad

Adam's Merino Wool Mitt

Check out this video on how to properly perform a two bucket wash:

[yt]RZ-Myuj4llE[/yt]

Last edited:

Chewy

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
V8
^^^ What Nick said ^^^

Remember, 90%+ of the damage you do to your paint is at wash/dry time.