2012 ram 2500 6.7 Manuel gear questions for mpg

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Kyrockman

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 cummins
I just bought a new 2012 ram 2500 and didn't realize it has 373 gears, I only get 13 mpg with 305 65 18 tires . I recently traded in a 2012 auto with 342's in it for this Manuel and the auto with the ho 6.7 got around 18-19 mpg , I thought the Manuel would do a lot better as far as mileage but I'm disappointed , anyone got any information on if I should get the 342's gears put in it at the dealership and what it will cost labor and parts. Do you think I will have enough power, I hardly ever pull anything but a 18 ft fishing boat from time to time . Any additional help will be appreciated , truck is all stock except for wheels and tires and a leveling kit . Thanks.
Ps if I did this wrong it's my first time posting lol

Stangshcky12

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 Cummins
A leveling kit and those tires can easily drop your mpg 4-6 mpg
My girlfriends truck went from 22-24 to a steady 18 mpg with a leveling kit and 315/70/17

Before you do anything irrational consider the cost to benefit and how many miles it would take for you to pay off getting new gears put in.
I only see changing gears hittin you more, especially with those wheels and tires

My gfs dad has a 2009 6.7l manual with 3:42s, he was getting 14-15 before a SPF delete and 21-22 now after and is can also tune from stock hp up to almost 500 hp (also has a dual disc clutch)
If you want better mileage then I would recommend going back to stock height/wheels and tires or a dpf delete (even a tuner with the dpf still there) before changing gears

4x4Hemi

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
A leveling kit and those tires can easily drop your mpg 4-6 mpg