2014 2500 6.7 ctd

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

sandsailor1

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 CTD
Not sure why this didn't show in the thread earlier.

I haven't seen anyone posting about the 2014 Ram 2500s yet, so I will begin.

First, I am new to this forum, but not new to Ram trucks or diesel, so I have some reasonable experience with the topic. I have previously had a 1998 Ram 1500 SLT and a 2001 Ram 1500 Laramie, a 2008 Ford F450 and multiple diesels at work.

So last week I traded in my 08 F450 Lariat (got tired of the repair bills) for a 2014 Ram 2500 4X4 SLT with the CTD. The new truck has several things I think are absolutely great, and some things that I have minor issues with. No truck is perfect, we just get the best truck we can afford at the time.

The good:
The MPG is great. The EVIC currently says I am at 17.2 MPG, and that is driving mostly back and forth to work, 18 miles evenly split highway and secondary road with traffic lights. I am very light on the pedal, and always have been. But coming out of the F450 with 10-12 MPG, 10 on the highway, this is great.
The acceleration is smooth, with plenty of torque, nothing that sets you back in your seat or anything, but I will get to that later. So far it shifts real smooth, although at a little low RPM for my taste, may have to go into the "manual" shift mode and see how that does.
The new coil spring rear end is awesome! Makes for a nice stable smooth ride that absorbs the roads real nice. Even with a car trailer on (standard pull, no trailer brakes) with a car on it, there was no sway in the rear end, and the integrated exhaust braking worked well, although I wish it stayed active to a lower rpm, I think it shut of at 1200 RPM, and with the RPMs staying so low anyway, it would only activate for a second or two at a time.

The bad: