6.7 L Engine Cladder

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Keep It Cummins

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins ISB 6.7 L
Hey Guys and Girls:

I'm a newbie to the forum so please bear with me. I recently purhased a 2010 2500 with the 6.7 L Cummins (35,000 Miles). I notice a very distinct claddering noise coming from the engine block on the drivers side in the vicinity of the EGR valve. It's almost a metal to metal tapping. It's not to be confused with the valve train and/or injector sounds that are normal with diesel engines. It also comes and goes regardless of engine temp. My dealer has not been overly helpful and simply says that "some" of these typically make this noise. I just received my first oil analysis and the report states all readings well within the standard parameters. Is anyone familiar with the annoying sound?? Thanks for the help!!

Search Youtube for "Cummins Diesel Engine Cladder" and you will hear what I'm talking about.

Last edited:

NWRQC

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 Cummins
Post an audio clip and it will make it easier to help diagnose, or put you at ease.

OP
OP
K

Keep It Cummins

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins ISB 6.7 L
I have a iPhone and I know how to video something. Can you tell me how to post it on this site? Thanks for the suggestion.

2serious

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Photobucket account get the app on ur phone you can upload it right there

USMC1188

Reaction score
Ram Year
None
Engine
Truckless...
Welcome!

Has it been doing it since you got the truck? Or has it started doing it since you bought it?

OP
OP
K

Keep It Cummins

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins ISB 6.7 L