Regeneration

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

baff

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 6.7 TD
Hi All,

OK, I'm a little confused. (happens easily)

I'm in process of getting 2011 2500 6.7 CTD. I've read a bunch of articles and forum threads on (exhaust) regeneration.

But, what is it ?

Do I need to replace/service/flush anything ?

Is it expensive ?

Some articles say you need to drive it to flush it, what does it all mean.
Lots of threads mention the phrase, but i still am a little unclear as to whether I actually need to do anything about it.

Thanks.

BlackedOutHemi

Reaction score
Ram Year
2012 & 2012
Engine
5.7L HEMI & 6.7L Cummins
Now, I'm no diesel expert, but from what I've heard, the DPF can get clogged from just daily driving around, and you can clean it out by driving at highway speeds for a while.

Stangshcky12

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 Cummins
Pick me pick me! I think I got the system down pretty well! lol

Dodge trucks use a diesel particulate filter (DPF) on their diesel trucks.
Unlike powerstroke and duramax, which use a DEF system, cummins dont need any extra fluid for their systems.

The filter takes the particulate out of the exhaust. As the filter fills up with particulate it needs to go into regeneration before it gets full.
There are two types of regeneration, active and passive.
Active regeneration uses diesel fuel as a catalyst to raise the temperature and burn out the particulate (this is where a DPF system differs from a DEF system, DEF systems use a seperate DEF fluid as a catalyst) Active regeneration can use over a gallon of diesel fuel to burn out the particulate.