Power Wagon as a daily commuter

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

AFD707

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
4.7 V8
Newbie here, howdy to all. I searched a few pages back and couldn't find a similar title, forgive me if this is a recurrence of a common thread.

Long and short of it is that I am researching my next pick up, and it will be my first HD. I need an HD for the volunteer work I do at my second home which is a retreat/family recreation center located in the Adirondacks of upstate NY. The camp is literally built off a lake into the side of a mountain, and I'm up there a few times a month logging, building, repairing and delivering all sorts of furniture and supplies to and from and around the camp. The need (especially in the winter, when 2ft of snow is the norm of 90 days straight) for ground clearence and suspension for off road logging and vehicular mountain navigation and delivery, with no one around within yelling or gunshot distance, and no cell service (so if I get stuck I'm screwed) (after months of research) leave the PW as the obvious best choice for me... and I frankly love it and want one.

I can hear ya: " So stop you're yakkin and get one ya dummy, what's the issue?".

Well, the thing is, I understand they're gas guzzlers. I won't be able to buy one for another year or two, and am grateful the 2014 has at least reduced the axle ratio to 4:10, still not the best fuel economy. I do understand the new 6.4 Hemis include the cylinder deactivation technology, which hopefully will help. The bottom line is, I can't afford 2 cars, so the PW would need be my primary, everyday commuter as well.