DIY: C-Bar taillight retrofit

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rzrman328

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Disclaimer: I AM NOT A PROFESSIONAL IN THE AFTERMARKET MODIFICATION INDUSTRY...WITH THAT BEING SAID, IF YOU MESS YOUR **** UP IT AINT MY FAULT :favorites13:

First remove taillights. If you need instruction on this....reconsider this mod now.

Next bake open. I did 215 for 12 mins. Then start peeling it apart CAREFULLY.
image_zpsdrn9qonh.jpg

Tailight opened. I cleaned it out while it was open. I recommend gloves because you'll leave finger smudges all over the chrome area.
image_zpsgkhpsa0o.jpg

Test fit the tubes to see where you need to drill/silicone.
After you select your spot....drill a hole for the leads.
image_zpst3wix5ja.jpg
image_zpsbeqyj4m7.jpg

This was probably the hardest part. The tubes came with some cheap plastic holders and the worlds smallest screws known to man that kept stripping out. I wanted to insure they would not move...ever. So I drilled tiny holes and used 20gauge wire to hold them down. Finished wiring it down. With the lens cover on you can hardly see the wires through the VHT. Twist the wires on the back so they don't come loose. At this point I put silicone under the tube for double-tapping purposes. Them ***** arent goin anywhere.
image_zpsdth3bizb.jpg

Next, flipped over and put silicone on leads and wires for sealing purposes. I let it dry at least 30 mins before continuing.
image_zpssie1dyhz.jpg

Next, test that sum_itch.
image_zpsjm5axe1n.jpg

Power and ground....this can be done multiple different ways. This is how I did it. I'm a fan of the heat shrink. Also, with a quick connect if the tube starts acting up it can be quickly disconnected.
image_zpshg48hyw9.jpg

Finally seal it up. Use some clamps and let it set 24hrs to get a good solid seal.
image_zpswj1pzyli.jpg