need help with tranny fluid, filter and transfer case fluid change

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jon0m0berry

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hemi 5.7
I just got a used 2010 hemi 4x4 crew cab 5 speed and am loving it. but its at 78500 miles and there is no record of the tranny fluid, filter or transfer case fluid being done at the 60000 mile mark. my truck didn't come with a Manuel but I found one online. it did tell me what kind of fluid is needed, but it doesn't give how much tranny fluid or transfer case fluid will be needed nor does it specify what of the two fluids it says the transfer case calls for, ATF+4 or NVG 246 fluid. how can I tell what transfer case fluid ill need and how much of both will I need? I've never done a tranny or transfer case fluid/filter change before. im no mechanic but im also not 100% new to working on cars either. is there anything I need to watch for while doing this? also on a side note while I was checking my tranny fluid at normal operating temp it was a little low and I added fluid and I think I over filled it 1/2-2/3 of a quart. do I need to worry? any info helps thank you

Jmhm17

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L HEMI
Why not just take it to the dealer and pay them to deal with it? Its going to cost a lot of money either way. I know on my 2014 both diffs, transfer case, and tranny are all different types of fluid. Previous experience with any drive train fluid has proved that for stock applications the factory stuff is the best. Save the hassle and just pay the dealer.

DannyMK2

Reaction score
Ram Year
2015 Power Wagon
Engine
6.4 Hemi