Transmission cooler change adventure

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

02Ram_grocerygetter

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
So, after reviewing some of the threads here regarding replacing my 26row heavy duty transmission cooler, it looked simple enough.
Dorman® - Dodge Ram 2002 Auto Trans Oil Cooler
It should have been too, but there are some things not included in the threads I saw from previous posts.

So, first thing is people say use this tool to get the fittings off the cooler
Amazon.com: Lisle 37000 Air Conditioning/Fuel Line Disconnect Tool Set: Automotive
that is definitely the one you want.
I've never done this before so I found this video helpful
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DvngvwOy2ns

At this point, so far, so good. Got the lines off, and sort of bent the inlet/outlet lines to get the cooler out of the truck.

Something that I haven't seen mentioned is that you can disconnect the radiator mounts on the top and move it just a little to get the new cooler inlet/outlet clear so you can get the whole thing down to where it needs to be.

At this point you normally you just connect the two lines and you're done.
Well, the o-rings in one of the fuel line connector decided it hated life and came out of the connector, I couldn't get it seated back correctly. I saw at least one other or-ring in there and figured I would risk it because I was in a time crunch. Yeah, that didn't work, started the truck, put it in neutral and fluid was leaking all over the place.