CB Help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Bird

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Alright, so about a week ago I got a CB radio from my fiancé's mother. It was in a plain white box, it had been sitting in her car for a while. Anyway, I got it set up and installed on my truck and there's a great deal of static. I met up with some buddies who run CB's in their trucks and I had to turn the squelch down real low for me to hear them. But inbetween communications that static is insane. Being a cb noob I don't know if it's a weak radio or antenna. They're both Cobra, and the radio says Cobra Ultra 10. I only have a volume and squelch option. It's also plugged into a cigarette lighter so that might be some of the issue. But any ideas to help get better audio quality?

JPT

Reaction score
Ram Year
2015 Big Horn
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Alright, so about a week ago I got a CB radio from my fiancé's mother. It was in a plain white box, it had been sitting in her car for a while. Anyway, I got it set up and installed on my truck and there's a great deal of static. I met up with some buddies who run CB's in their trucks and I had to turn the squelch down real low for me to hear them. But inbetween communications that static is insane. Being a cb noob I don't know if it's a weak radio or antenna. They're both Cobra, and the radio says Cobra Ultra 10. I only have a volume and squelch option. It's also plugged into a cigarette lighter so that might be some of the issue. But any ideas to help get better audio quality?

I would say this is 95% of your problem. Go right to the battery. You also should have a tune-able antenna (some of them under the end cap there is an adjustment), but that requires a special meter to tune in. Going right to the battery should solve enough of the problem that you will be good.

Searay245se

Reaction score
Ram Year