swap a 2005 Hemi 5.7 durango to 2008 hemi 5.7 chrysler aspen

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bennny

Reaction score
Ram Year
2008 chrysler aspen
Engine
5.7 hemi
hey everyone, i'm new here so please pardon me i'm still learning on how to navigate this site, my question is my mechanic took off a 2005 hemi 5.7 from a durango and is about to install it on 2008 chrysler aspen , the aspen has a 5.7 hemi, he says that the engine will not run if we don't use the aspen wire harness , so i decided to go to his shop and after checking this two motors they look a little bit different the 08 hemi has 4 solenoid i think from google they are displacement solenoid, and and the 05 has none just caps on the holes so we opted to pull them out and put them on the 05 hemi but since they are old one broke and we stopped, i contacted chrysler and each is about $110 and i need four, to my question , should i wait to but this 4 solenoid so i can use the aspen wire harness or can i leave everything as is on the 05 motor and will it run? i'm low in $$ so i'm trying to save as much as i can here, i'm thinking since the 05 motor is complete with harness and ecm should run but mech says the key will not recognize the comp, so it will be a risk i will be taking to do it that way please help

RonJon '06

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014, 1985
Engine
6.7, 360