Trailer?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ralaubach

Reaction score
Ram Year
2007 Ram QC
Engine
hemi 5.7
Alright so I going to be doing a move across country and living in the midwest for three years then back to the west coast. that being said i have come to the conclusion i might as well buy an enclosed trailer the ram can tow and load it up with stuff when I move. I have little to no experience in selecting a trailer and what to look for. So some questions are listed below.

1. How big do you guys think i can go? mind you i will be going over the rockets so i don't want to be super heavy. so far leaning towards a 14 footer.

2. single or double axel? obviously the double can handle more of a load, but do I really need it considering i intend to fill my trailer with the light weight stuff from the house and let the military move the heavy crap.

3. Barn door or ramp door? I have a motorcycle, but its not a trailer queen.
barn door pro- needs less room to open the door.
ramp door pro- built in ramp....

Also any other advice on what to look for/get in a trailer would be greatly appreciated.

avolnek

Reaction score
Ram Year
2015 Ram 2500 CCLB
Engine
Anything under 8,000 pounds or so with your truck (assuming 3.73 gears) would be ok for the occasional pull like you're talking. 14' would be a great size in my opinion. Tandem axles would be a safer bet, but not necessarily a must with the weight you are looking. I would get the extra axle if the budget allows for safety sake and resale if it ever comes to that...

As far as the door goes, I would much rather have the ramp door due to the built in ramp. This will help load the bike, a riding mower or even the use of a two wheeled dolley while moving...